Indian Himalayas – My solo photography exhibition

Exhibition Flyer

This was my first solo photography exhibition and it was a dream come true. On display were 18 of my best photos that I shot on the course of last 2 years in the Himalayas. In the photos I tried my best to capture what I saw, but I however feel that capturing all what you see is next to impossible. You can just capture a percentage of what you see with your eyes and when you see that percentage going up, you know that you’re growing good as a photographer.

The Himalayas are not just a range of mountains, they are much more than that. They are geography, they are history and they have shaped several civilizations. They have been there for millions of years standing tall and crowning India to its glory.

Photographing and traveling, specially in the Himalayas, has now become anĀ irresistibleĀ passion for me. I just cannot control my urge to go up in the mountains and spend lots of time there. I feel at peace, I feel contended when surrounded by the majestic beauty of the mountains. But it’s not just the beauty that surrounds you, there’s also hardships and risks. You are in the wilderness! But even these hardships and risks teach me something new everytime. Traveling is a learning process for me, and a source of knowledge. It takes me in the state of transcendence and the whole experience enlightens me each time I go up there.

As quoted by Anatoli Boukreev, “Mountains are not stadiums where I satisfy my ambition to achieve, they are the cathedrals where I practice my religion…I go to them as humans go to worship. From their lofty summits I view my past, dream of the future and, with an unusual acuity, am allowed to experience the present moment…my vision cleared, my strength renewed. In the mountains I celebrate creation. On each journey I am reborn.”

And that is exactly how I feel!

The Gallery

Here’s a timelapse compilation from the exhibition.

2 thoughts on “Indian Himalayas – My solo photography exhibition

Leave a Reply

